//
you're reading...
Kimberly Nichols

Letter from the Editor: De-Kinking the Flow

For as long as I have had my current laptop there is a start up program that has launched every morning when I turn it on called “My Day.” Every day for the past four years, I will watch it load and I will have to go to the file menu at the top of the screen and choose “Quit My Day” to close the program. While pondering the contents of this editorial the other day, I suddenly realized with a blinding sense of clarity that I was unconsciously choosing to “Quit My Day” every morning for the last four years before I had even had a chance to fully start it. It made me chuckle but then I started to think about all of the things in life that we come across on a daily basis that are subtly informing our experiences.

This little notification caused me to explore an exercise. Last week for a whole 24 hours, I carried around a notebook and wrote in it every fifteen minutes, detailing the exact steps of my entire day. I wrote down everyone I spoke to and what was said. I wrote down every single thing I did and noted how I felt in every given moment. I wrote down the things that were taking place around me that were close enough for me to actually notice or overhear. In doing this I was forced to stay present and wasn’t barraged by the normal babble that goes in my mind. I also realized how much I miss by not actually paying attention to that which constantly surrounds me. And at the end of the day, even though it was no different than any other day, I felt incredibly at peace and at one with my life. I got a really good night sleep and woke up the next morning not feeling as if I was in a race against time.

While being a meticulous observer to a day in my life, I discovered some interesting things. Staying conscious to my surroundings created a magical open space for little gems to appear. While sitting on the bus I decided to actually speak to the person sitting next to me rather than giving my mind its normal pattern of zoning out and obsessing over a future moment. In talking to this person sitting next to me it was uncovered that she was new to the area and looking for a writer to help her with her website. I got off the bus with a much needed job that I would have been still afraid about not finding had I not opened my mouth to this stranger. In that one moment of deciding to interact in the present moment with the world around me, I had been magically presented with an opportunity that would have never materialized otherwise. It made me realize how powerful we are when we decide to blindly trust the moment and stop blocking our life’s natural flow.

How much time do we spend in our lives nodding the expected hello to another person or throwing out a perfunctory smile at a stranger without it holding any real weight? How much time do we spend on a beautiful sunny morn jogging along a path that takes us through stunning nature only to be running through the to do list for the rest of the day in our minds, failing to listen to the birds chirping? How many times do we focus on the monkey chatter in our brains that is worried about making enough money to pay the rent that we are stunted into a cycle of incessant manic thought rather than simply staying in the moment, doing the best we can on the task at hand, and moving on to the next item to create the much needed momentum that occurs when things are merely getting done and attention is paid to that which takes place in order to perpetuate the ever-existing harmony that lives all around us?

What I also discovered is that when we stay in the present moment we learn that everything is perfect just the way it is and if we refuse to prescribe to the manic sensibilities that plague our overachieving and expectation filled minds, we actually become more calm, more in the flow, and move out of our way just enough for an omniscient abundance to take control. We are still going to have that bill looming over our head whether we bite our nails, stress and ignore the other people on the bus with us, or take that moment to talk to the stranger sitting next to us and watch the daylight fade away outside our window and let the bump of the transport lull our aching bodies like a lullaby.

In this magazine we tend to profile people and highlight organizations and events that give credence to the power of life’s sparkling flow. We feature stories about staying true to one’s heart and acting out lives that stem from this sense of blind faith, propelling passions, and living consciously. We continue to present ideas and actions that are direct proof that minding your words and your deeds, living fully in the present and paying attention to that which matters most to you on this great grand planet actually pays off in solid results and miraculous happenings. I invite you all to dig deep inside and get back in touch with the true you of you with the intention to make your every moment matter.

WRITTEN BY KIMBERLY NICHOLS

Newtopia managing editor KIMBERLY NICHOLS is author of the book of literary short fiction Mad Anatomy, a contributing editor to 3AM Magazine and has exhibited as a conceptual artist throughout California for the past decade. Her non-fiction articles have appeared in magazines and media internationally. She was a founding editor of Newtopia in its former incarnation where she was also a member of the NewPoetry Collective. She is currently at work on her novel King Neptune’s Journey and an art work titled The Fool. She has recently embarked on a journey of study in shamanic and medicine lore and wisdom under a series of respected teachers. Follow her daily beat poetry on Twitter @LITGFOA or her arts and literature blog.

Discussion

One thought on “Letter from the Editor: De-Kinking the Flow

  1. What a lovely piece of writing, Dear Editor, and such a crystal clear reminder of the joy of living fully in the present. You are a Mitzvah to us all!

    Posted by Tom Goforth | November 15, 2012, 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

